The 10 album challenge

In this challenge you are to list 10 albums that have stayed with you in some way. This challenge is not about best sellers or classics…. Just 10 albums that have had an effect on you in some way and they does not have to be in any particular order.

Music is something that has always been there. My parents listened to music constantly. I can remember as a very small child fingering the badge on the speakers of the stereo and being told not to touch the very expensive stylus that had been put on the turn-table. I did like pressing the button that make the turn-table shoot out of the stereo though.
I amassed a huge CD collection, which has turned into a huge digital music collection (120GB and rising) and I am attempting to brainwash my own child so that in 35 years when she does this list at least 50% of it will be music she inherited and not that crap young people listen to these days…

Bon Jovi – Keep the Faith Although I really prefer ‘These Days’ as an album. This whole album is just a huge chunk of misspent youth. Lying on my stomach, with my bestie, waiting for the tunes to come on The Box and MTV (back when MTV played music vids). I fell in love to these songs, had my heart broken, fell out with bestie and reconciled. It’s my teen years in just over an hour.


EastEnders Singalong – If Bon Jovi is the sound track of my teenage years then this is the sound track of childhood with my family. I’m fairly certain that my whole family could sing the whole album all the way through and that at least 85% of the polaroids of my family dancing, they are dancing to this.

Kylie Minogue – Kylie The Princess of Pop debut and one of the first records I owned. I asked for a record player for Christmas that year just so I could have this album. Not music my parents listened to but a record I played over and over again. Although this album is 25 years old I still remember the joy of discovering pop music just for me.

Ocean Colour Scene – Marchin Already One from University it’s all about chilling out with friends and talking until very early in the morning. It beat out very stiff competition from a whole host of Britpop but in spite of crazed nights dancing it’s mostly the post club I remember and miss. Nights of giggling over Judge Dredd in the corner and checking if that was a rabbit or a pair of jeans on the radiator with Bob. 4 people in a single bed in quite possibly the smallest bedroom ever.

Paul Simon – There goes Rhyming Simon The album cover of this record opened up and had all the words on the inside with cool pictures that matched each song. I made my dad play “Was a Sunny Day” over and over until I knew all the words

Richard Marx – Rush Street The first CD I bought with my own money. I was obsessed with “Hazard” for years and it’s still one of my absolute favourite songs. The soundtrack of love and heartbreak.

Traveling Wilburys – Volume 1 Possibly the superest of all Supergroups. My Dad got this for his last Christmas and he played it a lot. I overheard my mum saying “but I am” at the end of “You’re not alone anymore” just after he died.

Joan Baez – Diamonds and Rust The first of 3 albums that I have inherited from The Old Woman. She played it so much when I was a kid but as an adult it has stayed and resonated in different ways.

Tracy Chapman – Tracy Chapman Another one inherited from The Old Woman

Suzanne Vega – Suzanne Vega The final one of my matriarchal inheritance. This album also gave me the first sense of consciously choosing the direction of my life. A guy who my Bon Jovi bestie fancied was amazed to discover that I knew of Suzanne Vega. When the lights went down while we were listening to it he made a move to kiss me I moved away because I didn’t want to be THAT girl. It’s one of the great “what ifs” of my life. I did snog him quite excessively several years later but that’s a whole other album.

The Short list
I’m heartbroken at cutting every single one of these; Abba – Gold, Green Day – Dookie, Grease OST, Bjork – Debut, Pulp – His N Hers, Monty Python Sings, Josh Ritter – So Runs the World Away, Enigma – Cross of Changes, Bob Dylan – Blood on the Tracks, Madonna – Immaculate Collection, Paul Simon – Graceland, Portishead – Dummy, New Kids on the Block – Hangin’ Tough, Sting – Dream of the Blue Turtles, Blur – Parklife, Killers – Hot Fuss, The Beautiful South – Miaow, REM – Automatic for the people, Jason Donovan – 10 good reasons, Lightning Seeds – Jollification, Ash – 1977

This is a good companion piece – https://bubblechog.wordpress.com/2011/03/15/30-day-song-challenge

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Buffgirl73
    Sep 26, 2014 @ 21:32:08

    What an awesome mix of albums. That’s got me and hubs talking this evening, it’s actually hard to think of 10 but we’re giving it out best!

    Really enjoying your blogs btw. You’ve encouraged me to start mine up again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

