30 Day Song Challenge

So one of my cousins ‘liked’ this on FB and I’ve decided to give it a go.

I think I might be cheating by putting them all up at once but it means if I forget to do it one day then i’m not behind.

day 01 – your favourite song
Hazard by Richard Marx – I basically played this song on repeat for 3 years and I still love it. Finding the youtbe video reminded me how much I loved the video too back in the days of only MTV and The Box

day 02 – your least favourite song
Born Slippy nuxx by Underworld – Hate always had a deep visceral hatred for this song. I have no idea why but I’m still slightly peeved that it’s so inextricably linked with a film I really like.

day 03 – a song that makes you happy
Hakuna matata from the Lion King So it’s an obnoxiously jolly tune anyway with some fine word play and it reminds me of bob because she’s my very own Pumbaa.

day 04 – a song that makes you sad
Storms – fleetwood mac. Just a totally beautiful song with such heartbreak in the words. I was 11 when my dad died and the lyrics to this just feel so accurate…. And now I’m bawling now as this song plays on Youtube

day 05 – a song that reminds you of someone
Jennifers Rabbit by Tom Paxton – Kind of linked to day 4. This song is a song I remember singing with my dad when I was extemely small


day 06 – a song that reminds you of somewhere
Take me out by Franz Ferdinand – The Bassment in Chelmsford. Crappy and fabulous at the same time

day 07 – a song that reminds you of a certain event
Do you Remember the First Time by pulp – Although technically a Sugarhouse smash (rather than a carleton classic) the certain event this reminds me off started in the carleton and didn’t actually happen to me.

day 08 – a song that you know all the words to
Sparkys magic Piano Me and my sister Tiddles surprised ourselves a few weeks ago by both knowing all the words to this gem from our childhood

day 09 – a song that you can dance to
You can’t stop the beat – Hairspray Cast – Oh this song is just totally about the jopy of dancing even to a rythymless unco-ordinated clod like me. My TAS is in hysterics 4100 miles away just thinking about me dancing to this tune. He decided it was worth sitting through Hairspray just to watch me dance to this finale

day 10 – a song that makes you fall asleep
Cross of changes by enigma – Not just this song but the whole album is very restful

day 11 – a song from your favorite band
In these arms by Bon Jovi. One of the few tunes that managed to get some stereo time while Day one (Hazard by Richard Marx) had it’s 3 year grip on my CD player. I Still Love Bon Jovi with the kind of passion you can only get for a band during your early teens

day 12 – a song from a band you hate
Who the fuck is Alice – roy chubby brown NSFW– I really dislike Roy Chubby Brown I don’t think he’s funny. But this song I do quite like

day 13 – a song that is a guilty pleasure
Dragostea din tei by O-zone None of my music is a guilty pleasure I take great personal pleasure in listening to someone exercise their music snobbery about a song before saying – “I’ve got that on my iTunes” However I am extremely aware that this particular piece of euro pop has very few redeeming features

day 14 – a song that no one would expect you to love
Fly on the wings of love xtm presents Annnia – Mostly I’m a guitar girl, a bit of an indy chick, a child of Britpop. But for some reason I can’t resist this tune

day 15 – a song that describes you
Bitch by Meredith Brooks I’m essentially indescribable I’m In the words of the song “ A little bit of everything all rolled into one”

day 16 – a song that you used to love but now hate
I’ve had the time of my life –Bill Medley and Jennifer Warnes – This was the hardest day for me because there are no songs that have slipped that far down my list. There are a few songs that I don’t love quite as much and this is one of them. I think I just don’t like it as a stand alone song now only in the Dirty Dancing context

day 17 – a song that you hear often on the radio
archers theme – I don’t listen to the radio except radio 4 so this is the music i’m most likely to hear unless I’m late for work on a Friday and catch a bit of desert Island Discs


day 18 – a song that you wish you heard on the radio
Pope Song – Tim Minchin. NSFW This was almost my answer to day 25 but I’d love a radio station to have the balls to play this uncensored

day 19 – a song from your favourite album
These days by Bon Jovi from the album of the same name Second outing for my favourite band. This is one of my all time favourite songs and I love the whole album.

day 20 – a song that you listen to when you’re angry
Harder to breathe – Maroon 5 It’s just a fabulous self righteous song to put on loudly when you’re pissed off with someone

day 21 – a song that you listen to when you’re happy
Hot and cold – Katy Perry. Another great tune to dance around to.

day 22 – a song that you listen to when you’re sad
Possession – Sarah Mclachlan It’s just such a wistful song that suits melancholy moods

day 23 – a song that you want to play at your wedding
Everlasting love by Jacky Cheung – On one of my first trips to Atlanta to visit my TAS we were sharing music we liked and he sung this to me and translated it. It’s kind of ended up our song and is defnitely on the karaoke list for the wedding this summer

day 24 – a song that you want to play at your funeral
YMCA – Village people it will fit in with my disco themed funeral and everyone can join in on the chorus

day 25 – a song that makes you laugh
Das Hokey Cokey by Bill Bailey in the style of kraftwerk. Bill Bailey is pure comedy gold

day 26 – a song that you can play on an instrument

4”33 – I can’t play any instruments

day 27 – a song that you wish you could play
Fur Elise – Beethoven it sounds so simple and so perfect

day 28 – a song that makes you feel guilty

If now now – Tracy Chapman This song reminds me of my mum who I fell out with last yearand combined with the lyrics it’s the perfect recipe for guilt

day 29 – a song from your childhood
Postman Pat theme Not just from TV. In fact not even the TV version. The version of postman pat that comes from my childhood is actually my Uncle Joe playing it on his guitar.

day 30 – your favorite song at this time last year
Dream Catch me by Newton Faulkner. This time last year I was going to see my TAS for the 3rd time in 3 months and this is probably our ‘other’ song See Day 23

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: The 10 album challenge | Bubblechog's Blog

Leave a Reply

